A reconstruction of fragments from Beethoven Sonate op. 27

Piano solo and four hands in three parts

Duration approx 10 min total

Music by Stefan Klaverdal

Commissioned by C-Y (contemporary) and Swedish Arts Grants Council


Score (pdf)


I have long since held an interest in teaching. In this piece I have composed three parts, to be performed by one student and one professional pianist. The two have one solo part each, and one where they perform together.


The music is loosely based upon fragments from the Beethoven  “Moonlight” Sonata. I have with various techniques expanded fragments from it, but tried to keep true to the original feeling in each part. I have renamed the parts, trying to in the subtitle capture some of the feel of each: I rememberings, II tremblings. III ramblings.